Jump To Navigation

Fairfax Driving on Suspended License Attorney

Fighting Charges of Driving on a Suspended License in Northern Virginia Courts

There are a number of ways that your driver's license can be suspended in Virginia. For example, your driver's license may be suspended due to a DWI/DUI charge or conviction, or a reckless driving conviction. But your license could also be suspended if you failed to pay fines or court costs, or were behind on your child support. Because the court doesn't physically take your license away, sometimes people are unaware that their license has been suspended. They are surprised when a police officer pulls them over and arrests them.

Driving on a suspended (DOS) or revoked license is a very serious offense in Northern Virginia. It is a class 1 misdemeanor. If you are convicted, you could face a license suspension, a jail sentence of up to 12 months, and a fine of up to $2,500. A conviction may add six demerit points to your driving record, which can cause your insurance company to greatly increase your car insurance rates.

If you have been charged with driving on a suspended license in Northern Virginia, contact the Law Office of Anthony H. Nourse, PLC. Call 703-659-2450 for experienced defense against traffic violation charges in Prince William County, Loudon County, Arlington County or Fairfax County traffic courts. Se Habla Espanol. We make jail visits.

Your Defense at Every Step of the Process

With more than a decade of defense experience, attorney Anthony H. Nourse knows the local criminal justice system well. He is in court on a daily basis, providing a strong defense for clients facing charges for traffic violations such as DOS, DWI/DUI and reckless driving. He can explain how your license suspension occurred, the defense process and likely next steps, and the possible outcomes you face. You will never be surprised or confused because of lack of information.

There are three main elements to a charge of driving on a suspended license:

  1. You must have been driving
  2. Your license must have been suspended
  3. You must have known that your license was suspended (for example, you signed a form acknowledging that your license was suspended)

As your defense lawyer, Mr. Nourse will investigate each of these three factors and identify a defense strategy.

Driving Without a License/No Valid Operators License

This license/permit violation is similar to driving on a suspended license, but in this case the driver never had a license to begin with. It is a class 2 misdemeanor that can result in jail time and loss of driving privileges. In addition, your right to obtain a driver's license may be restricted. If you are caught driving without a license a second time, you can be charged with a class 1 misdemeanor, which is more serious.

Driving on a suspended license is serious — and costly. It is wise to have an experienced attorney by your side to present the best possible defense . Contact the Law Office of Anthony H. Nourse, PLC to schedule a free consultation. f We accept Visa, MasterCard and American Express.

We represent clients in Northern Virginia, including the communities of Manassas, Woodbridge, Centerville, Clifton, Fairfax and Alexandria.

case evaluation form

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

office locations

Law Office of Anthony H. Nourse
4151 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030
Fairfax Law Office Map
Phone:
703-659-2450
Fax: 703-881-9162

Manassas Office
9315 Center Street
Suite 103
Manassas, VA 20110
Map & Directions